This site uses cookies for analytics and interest-based advertising purposes. Read our Cookie Policy or click on AdChoices for more information. Ad Choices

View Finder Orlando

IMAGE CREDIT: RICYMAR PHOTOGRAPHY
  • THE SINGING TOWER

    Nestled among seas of endless orange groves that lie to the west of Florida’s premier tourist town, the exquisite Bok Gardens awaits as a respite from the rest of the mad, mad world.

    The focal point of these Eden-like grounds is an attraction that implores you to use both your eyes and ears in order to experience it at its grandest and, in that regard, has come to be known as the Singing Tower.

    Constructed under commission from the land’s owner, Edward W. Bok, in 1929 the tower’s multifaceted façade grows more and more interesting the longer you spend in its presence. From the outside, the coral colours of Florida’s native coquina stone blend with the soft pinks and grays of marble to form a striking stela that can be seen from miles away — a sight that comes with its own soundtrack when the sixty hand-crafted carillon bells ring out from atop the Iron Mountain.

    The rich symbolism that surrounds the structure is geared firmly toward the biblical, but a menagerie of wildlife motifs also vie for the attention of visitors (we’ve heard there’s even a jellyfish or two on there somewhere).

    The more philosophical features — depicting the balance between the species through intricate ironwork and sculpture — are sure to provide many a contemplative hour for more reflective patrons. Those looking for something a little more somatic should take a walk along the nearby Pine Ridge Trail — an anomaly by most accounts in the Sunshine State’s famously flat terrain — where wildlife spotting from one of the highest peninsula points is sure to shake off the cobwebs.

Related Articles

Start A Reservation

Enjoy fast and easy car rental bookings from Enterprise Rent-A-Car at one of our 7,200 branches in cities, airports and neighborhoods near you.

Reserve Now

Email Offers

Don't miss an excuse to hit the road: our latest offers delivered to your inbox.

Sign Up

Ce site utilise des fichiers témoins aux fins d’analyse et de diffusion de publicités ciblées par centres d’intérêt. Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre politique relative aux fichiers témoins ou cliquez sur AdChoices. Ad Choices

Consulter le Finder Orlando

IMAGE CREDIT: RICYMAR PHOTOGRAPHY
  • LA TOUR DE CHANT

    Niché au milieu d’une nuée d’orangeries sans fin qui longent la partie ouest de la principale ville touristique de Floride, le magnifique jardin Bok Gardens vous attend pour vous offrir un répit loin de ce monde fou.

    Le point central de ces terres de paradis est une attraction qui vous demande d’utiliser vos yeux et vos oreilles afin de l’admirer sous sa forme la plus grandiose et, de ce fait, elle est maintenant connue sous le nom de tour de chant.

    Construite dans le cadre d’une commande du propriétaire du terrain, Edward W. Bok, en 1929, la façade multifacettes de la tour devient de plus en plus intéressante à mesure que vous l’observez. De l’extérieur, les couleurs corail des roches littorales natives de Floride se mélangent avec les roses doux et les gris du marbre pour former une stèle saisissante visible à des kilomètres. Cette vue est accompagnée de sa propre piste sonore lorsque les soixante carillons fabriqués à la main sonnent du toit de l’Iron Mountain.

    Le riche symbolisme qui entoure la structure est clairement axé sur le domaine biblique, mais une ménagerie de motifs de faune et de flore lutte pour attirer l’attention des visiteurs (nous avons même entendu dire qu’une ou deux méduses s’y trouvent quelque part).

    Les caractéristiques plus philosophiques, représentant l’équilibre entre les espèces à travers des sculptures et des ouvrages en fer forgé, sont assurées de produire des heures de contemplation pour des gens plus songeurs. Nous conseillons à ceux qui recherchent des attractions plus somatiques d’arpenter le Pine Ridge Trail à proximité, une anomalie dans le paysage plat de la Floride selon la plupart des gens, où l’observation de faune et flore sur un des points les plus élevés de la péninsule vous remettra les idées en place.

Commencer une Réservation

Profitez de réservations de location de véhicules rapides et faciles auprès d’une des 7 200 succursales d’Enterprise Rent-A-Car situées dans les villes, les aéroports et les quartiers près de chez vous.

Réservez maintenant

Offres par courriel

Ne manquez pas la chance de prendre la route : nos dernières offres livrées dans votre boîte aux lettres.

Inscrivez-vous