This site uses cookies for analytics and interest-based advertising purposes. Read our Cookie Policy or click on AdChoices for more information. Ad Choices


It’s a commitment to fuel alternatives and the cutting-edge technologies of tomorrow.

Sustaining the environment for future generations

The Enterprise Rent-A-Car Institute for Renewable Fuels is a research unit within the Donald Danforth Plant Science Center that was established in 2007 with a generous grant from the Taylor family. The mission of the Enterprise Institute is to create the next generation of alternative fuel technologies by enhancing the potential of oilseed crops, algae and bioenergy grasses as sources of sustainable bioenergy to someday be used on a larger scale to fuel cars, trucks and aircraft.

The Enterprise Rent-A-Car Institute for Renewable Fuels focuses on three key areas:

Boosting discovery by exploring the fundamental science of genes and systems and how they convert to solar energy and oils.

Driving innovation by developing new technologies to better understand the constraints of turning plants in fuels.

Accelerating research so plant and algal-based oils can be produced for use on a commercial scale.

Scientist in laboratory

A Shuttle Fleet That Runs on Alternative Fuels

We are embracing cleaner fuel and engine technologies in our shuttle fleets. Most of our shuttle buses run on cleaner fuels.

Learn More
Prairie grass on a river

Sustainable Energy Research

In 2013, the Enterprise Holdings Foundation established an endowment for sustainable energy research at the University of Missouri. Early research shows that about 116 million acres of land along the Mississippi and Missouri Rivers are ideal for growing biomass, and using just five percent of that land could yield up to seven billion gallons of biofuel per year.

Learn More
Biograss under a microscope

Scientific Highlights

Technologies are constantly evolving to enhance the potential of bioenergy crops that could someday be used to power cars, trucks and aircraft. Additional research is investigating ways to create renewable fuels from soybeans, camelina and other plant sources.

Download PDF


Meet Thomas Brutnell, PH.D.

Meet Thomas Brutnell, PH.D.
As the Director of the Enterprise Rent-A-Car Institute for Renewable Fuels, a primary objective of Tom’s program is to expand the research portfolio to include ways to improve biofuels on a larger scale production level.


Licensed technologies to the private sector


Research collaborations with partners in the U.S., South America, Europe, Africa and Asia


Bioenergy patent applications

The Enterprise Institute for Renewable Fuels is committed to training collaborative teams from local high schools and beyond to focus on the fuels of the future.


The Enterprise Institute for Renewable Fuels is proud to involve students from local schools. Each year hundreds of high school students participate in the Mutant Millets program, with teachers and plant scientists, to help discover new plant traits. Undergrad students are also trained in the labs through summer internships, as well as postdoctoral trainees and graduate students.

Learn more about their discoveries
Woman looking under microscope

Ce site utilise des fichiers témoins aux fins d’analyse et de diffusion de publicités ciblées par centres d’intérêt. Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre politique relative aux fichiers témoins ou cliquez sur AdChoices. Ad Choices

RECHERCHE SUR LES CARBURANTS

Nous nous engageons à utiliser des carburants de remplacement et les technologies de pointe du futur.

Protéger l'environnement pour les générations à venir

Enterprise Location d'Auto Institute for Renewable Fuels est une unité de recherche au sein du Donald Danforth Plant Science Center fondé en 2007 grâce à un généreux don de la famille Taylor. Sa mission est de créer la prochaine génération de technologies de carburants de remplacement en améliorant le potentiel bioénergétique des plantes oléagineuses, des algues et des herbes bioénergétiques pour qu'elles puissent être éventuellement utilisées comme carburant pour les véhicules, les camions et les avions.

Enterprise Location d'Auto Institute for Renewable Fuels se concentre sur trois principaux domaines :

Favoriser les découvertes en explorant la science fondamentale des gênes et des systèmes et la façon dont ils se convertissent en énergie solaire et en huiles;

Stimuler l'innovation en mettant au point de nouvelles technologies permettant de mieux comprendre les contraintes qu'impose la transformation de plantes en carburant;

Accélérer la recherche pour que des huiles à base de plantes et d'algues puissent être produites pour un usage à échelle commerciale.

Scientifiques dans un laboratoire

Un parc de navettes qui fonctionnent aux carburants de remplacement

Nous adoptons des technologies de moteur et de carburant plus propres pour nos parcs de navettes, et la plupart de nos navettes utilisent des carburants plus propres.

En apprendre davantage
Herbe de prairie sur une rivière

Recherche sur les énergies durables

En 2013, Enterprise Holdings Foundation a créé une fondation pour la recherche sur l'énergie durable à l'université du Missouri. Des recherches ont démontré que près de 116 millions d'acres en bordure des fleuves Mississippi et Missouri seraient parfaits pour cultiver une biomasse; utiliser seulement cinq pour cent de cette superficie permettrait de fabriquer jusqu'à 26 milliards de litres de biocarburant par année.

En apprendre davantage
Herbe sous un microscope

Faits scientifiques marquants

Les technologies qui pourraient un jour permettre de décupler le potentiel bioénergétique des cultures pour alimenter des véhicules, des fourgonnettes et des avions évoluent constamment. D'autres recherches portent sur les façons de créer des carburants durables à partir de soja, de caméline et d'autres sources végétales.

Télécharger le fichier PDF

DIRECTION

Voici Thomas Brutnell, PH.D.
En tant que directeur de l'Enterprise Institute for Renewable Fuels, l'un de ses objectifs principaux est d'accroître le portefeuille de recherche de l'organisme pour y ajouter des moyens d'améliorer les biocarburants afin de permettre une production à grande échelle.


En apprendre davantage
Voici Thomas Brutnell, PH.D.
3

Technologies concédées au secteur privé

21

Collaborations de recherche avec des partenaires aux États-Unis, en Amérique du Sud, en Europe, en Afrique et en Asie

5

Demandes de brevets pour produits bioénergétiques

L'Enterprise Institute for Renewable Fuels s'engage à former des équipes collaboratives provenant d'écoles secondaires locales pour étudier les carburants du futur.

LA PROCHAINE GÉNÉRATION DE SCIENTIFIQUES

Les meneurs de demain

L'Enterprise Institute for Renewable Fuels est fière de faire participer des élèves provenant d'écoles locales. Chaque année, des centaines d'élèves du secondaire, de professeurs et de phytologues participent au programme Mutant Millets pour découvrir de nouveaux traits génétiques caractéristiques de végétaux. Les étudiants universitaires, aux études supérieures et aux études postdoctorales sont également formés en laboratoire.


Apprenez-en davantage sur leurs découvertes
Une femme regarde dans un microscope