This site uses cookies for analytics and interest-based advertising purposes. Read our Cookie Policy or click on AdChoices for more information. Ad Choices

Florida’s Space Coast Attractions

A boat heads out to the Atlantic Ocean as the sun rises at Port Canaveral.

A boat heads out to the Atlantic Ocean as the sun rises at Port Canaveral.


Above photo: A boat heads out to the Atlantic Ocean as the sun rises at Port Canaveral.

Story and photos by Charles Williams

Charles is the editor for Pursuits with Enterprise. Email the author.

The Kennedy Space Center is the big draw, but it’s not the only reason to visit.

Things are looking up on Florida’s Space Coast — literally. After a pause in human flights from the Kennedy Space Center following the end of the space shuttle program in 2011, NASA will soon launch astronauts into space again from Florida. But activity also is booming on the water at Port Canaveral — the second busiest cruise port in the world — and on the land as people drive to and from Orlando attractions, which are about an hour away.

With 116 kilometres of shoreline and dozens of tourist destinations, there’s something for everyone on Florida’s Space Coast. Here are a few of my favourite stops.


LEARN ABOUT HISTORY


Kennedy Space Center

Merritt Island

Space nerds be warned — you won’t have time to do everything in one day at the Kennedy Space Center. The Visitor Complex offers films and exhibits that cover everything from NASA’s origins to upcoming deep space missions. The space shuttle Atlantis, which blasted off into space 33 times, is a highlight.

Future astronauts also will enjoy learning about the newer spacecraft such as the Orion, Crew Dragon and CST-100 Starliner capsules.

Special Interest Tours allow visitors to take photos at some of the most iconic spots within the centre, including the massive Vehicle Assembly Building and launch pads 39A and 39B, which were used for Apollo and space shuttle flights. All bus tours stop at the Apollo/Saturn V Center, where you can see the largest rocket ever built and touch a moon rock that was gathered 383,000 kilometres away.

Valiant Air Command Warbird Air Museum
Titusville

If you can tell a Wildcat from a Panther or a Tiger from a Tomcat, this is the museum for you. Founded in 1977, the Valiant Air Command displays more than 45 aircraft used in combat, dating back to World War I. And I’ve never met a more enthusiastic group of volunteer guides.

The museum features a Douglas C-47A Skytrain troop transport plane used in the D-Day invasion of Normandy, France, during World War II. Gen. Dwight D. Eisenhower said the Skytrain was one of the most important weapons in the Allied victory, along with the bazooka, Jeep and atomic bomb.

In 1944, a Grumman Wildcat fighter lost power and sank in Lake Michigan. The aircraft sat submerged for 50 years. After 30,000 hours of restoration work, the plane now sits at the museum’s entrance. Both the pilot and his rescuer have visited the museum.

Exploration Tower
Port Canaveral

The sail-like architecture alone is worth a visit to this museum that chronicles the history of the area. But the panoramic view from the seventh-floor observation deck makes it a must-see stop. Watch huge cruise ships leave Port Canaveral — the departure spot for 4.5 million passengers a year — for the Atlantic Ocean.

Only steps away, the Cove entertainment district is home to several nice restaurants. I savoured a basket of fried shrimp at Rusty’s Seafood & Oyster Bar, which has a great outdoor patio overlooking the water. If you prefer to catch your own seafood, the 366-metre Jetty Park Pier is close by.


GET BACK TO NATURE


Merritt Island National Wildlife Refuge
Titusville

The 140,000-acre refuge is home to 1,500 species of plants and animals, and it supports one of the highest numbers of endangered and threatened species within the National Wildlife Refuge system.

The Black Point Wildlife Drive is the best place to see animals. This 11-kilometre, one-way road allows visitors to see birds, alligators, river otters and more. I spied a bobcat on the prowl and dozens of shorebirds.

The refuge is bordered by the Canaveral National Seashore, which provides a beautiful beach and recreational opportunities such as camping, kayaking, fishing and swimming.

Brevard Zoo
Melbourne

While I was standing on a tall platform, I came face to face with Milenna, a giraffe that was being fed lettuce. Watch out for the 51-cm tongue! If you prefer a less in-your-face perspective, try a guided kayaking tour around the giraffe enclosure — a unique experience offered only at the Brevard Zoo.

The zoo opened in 1994 and is now home to more than 900 animals representing 196 species. At “Australia and Beyond,” I enjoyed the walk-through kangaroo exhibit, where a red kangaroo hopped around with a cute joey in its pouch.
 


ENJOY THE BEAUTIFUL BEACHES


Sebastian Inlet State Park

Melbourne Beach

For fun in the sun, head to Sebastian Inlet State Park, which has surfing, fishing, wildlife and 5 kilometres of beaches.

The northernmost jetty curves out into the Atlantic, providing a great opportunity to catch snook, Spanish mackerel, redfish and more. When he was growing up, local legend Kelly Slater — who won a record 11 world surfing championships — practised near the jetty.

Sebastian Inlet connects the pounding Atlantic Ocean with calmer waters in the Indian River Lagoon. The calm tide pool is a great place for kids to wade in the water and look for shells. The park has 190 species of birds, and each summer, loggerhead, green and leatherback sea turtles travel hundreds of kilometres to nest in the warm sands.

Cocoa Beach Pier
Cocoa Beach

Cocoa Beach conjures up scenes from another era — ripped astronauts with crew cuts and Wayfarer sunglasses lying on the sand, exuding a cool most of us will never attain. Although those astronauts are gone, the 244-metre pier still offers a great vantage point to see rockets bolting into space.

With five bars and restaurants, the Cocoa Beach Pier draws enthusiastic crowds of tourists, fishermen and surfers. Head to the Rikki Tiki Tavern at the end of the pier for a cold drink at sunset.

Ron Jon Surf Shop
Cocoa Beach

I’ve always wondered what surfers do at 3 a.m. when they need new boardshorts. Well, Ron Jon’s Cocoa Beach location is conveniently open 24/7 for such emergencies. And late-night shoppers won’t be hurting for selection. At 4831 square metres, it’s the world’s largest surf shop.

The distinctive blue, yellow, orange and turquoise art deco building is impossible to miss. A statue of Kelly Slater, the greatest surfer of all time, stands appropriately out front.

Related

View all articles

Read more stories about Florida.

Start A Reservation

Enjoy fast and easy car rental bookings from Enterprise Rent-A-Car at one of our 7,200 branches in cities, airports and neighborhoods near you.

Reserve Now

Email Offers

Don't miss an excuse to hit the road: our latest offers delivered to your inbox.

Sign Up

Ce site utilise des fichiers témoins aux fins d’analyse et de diffusion de publicités ciblées par centres d’intérêt. Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre politique relative aux fichiers témoins ou cliquez sur AdChoices. Ad Choices

Attractions de la « Côte spatiale » de la Floride

Un bateau se dirige vers l’océan Atlantique pendant que le soleil se lève à Port Canaveral.

Un bateau se dirige vers l’océan Atlantique pendant que le soleil se lève à Port Canaveral.


Photo ci-dessus : un bateau se dirige vers l’océan Atlantique pendant que le soleil se lève à Port Canaveral.

Article et photos par Charles Williams

Charles est le rédacteur en chef du magazine Pursuits with Enterprise. Envoyez un courriel à l’auteur.

Le Kennedy Space Center attire le plus de gens, mais il y a d’autres choses à visiter.

En ce qui concerne la « Côte spatiale » de la Floride, les choses sont sur une pente ascendante, littéralement. À la suite de la pause des vols spatiaux habités partant du Kennedy Space Center à la fin du programme de navette spatiale en 2011, la NASA planifie de bientôt envoyer à nouveau des astronautes dans l’espace à partir de la Floride. Mais les activités sont également florissantes sur l’eau à Port Canaveral, le deuxième plus important port de croisière au monde; et sur la terre, avec les gens voyagent vers et depuis les attractions d’Orlando, qui se trouve à environ une heure de route.

Avec ses 116 kilomètres de rivage et ses douzaines de destinations touristiques, la « Côte spatiale » de la Floride a tout pour plaire à tous les goûts. Voici quelques-uns de mes arrêts préférés.


DÉCOUVREZ L’HISTOIRE


Kennedy Space Center

Île Merritt

Avertissement aux « accrocs » de l’espace : une seule journée au Kennedy Space Center ne suffira pas pour tout faire. Le Complexe des visiteurs propose des films et des expositions qui couvrent tout, des origines de la NASA aux prochaines missions d’exploration de l’espace. La navette spatiale Atlantis, qui s’est envolée 33 fois dans l’espace, est un point fort.

Les futurs astronautes s’amuseront également à découvrir les nouveaux vaisseaux spatiaux comme les capsules Orion, Crew Dragon et CST-100 Starliner.

Les visites « d’intérêt spécial » permettent aux visiteurs de prendre des photos dans certains des endroits les plus emblématiques du centre, notamment l’énorme bâtiment d’assemblage de lanceur et les plateformes de lancement 39A et 39B, qui ont servi pour Apollo et les vols de la navette spatiale. Tous les autobus touristiques s’arrêtent au Centre Apollo/Saturn V, où vous pouvez voir la plus grande fusée jamais construite et toucher une pierre de lune qui a été récupérée à 383 023 kilomètres.

Musée Valiant Air Command Warbird Air Museum
Titusville

Si vous pouvez distinguer un Wildcat d’un Panther ou un Tiger d’un Tomcat, ce musée saura vous plaire. Fondé en 1977, le Valliant Air Command présente plus de 45 avions de combat datant de la Première Guerre mondiale. Et je n’ai jamais rencontré un groupe de guides bénévoles plus enthousiastes.

Le musée abrite un avion de transport de troupes Douglas C-47A Skytrain, utilisé lors de l’invasion du Jour J de la Normandie, en France, pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Le général Dwight D. Eisenhower a déclaré que le Skytrain était l’une des armes les plus importantes de la victoire des Alliés, ainsi que le bazooka, le Jeep et la bombe atomique.

En 1944, un avion de chasse Grumman Wildcat est tombé en panne et a sombré dans le lac Michigan. L’appareil est resté submergé pendant 50 ans. Après avoir subi 30 000 heures de travaux de restauration, l’avion accueille maintenant les visiteurs à l’entrée du musée. Le pilote et son secouriste ont tous deux visité le musée.

Tour d’exploration
Port  Canaveral

L’architecture en forme de voile vaut en soi une visite à ce musée qui raconte l’histoire de la région. Toutefois, c’est la vue panoramique depuis le pont d’observation au septième étage qui en fait un arrêt incontournable. Admirez d’énormes bateaux de croisière qui quittent Port Canaveral pour l’océan Atlantique. Il s’agit du point de départ pour 4,5 millions de passagers chaque année.

À quelques pas seulement se trouve le quartier des divertissements de Cove qui abrite plusieurs charmants restaurants. J’ai savouré un panier de crevettes frites au Rusty’s Seafood & Oyster Bar, qui dispose d’un superbe patio extérieur surplombant l’eau. Si vous préférez attraper vos propres fruits de mer, rendez-vous à proximité au quai Jetty Park Pier qui s’étend sur 366 mètres.


RENOUEZ AVEC LA NATURE


National Wildlife Refuge de l’île Merritt
Titusville

Le refuge faunique de 56 656 hectares abrite 1 500 espèces de plantes et d’animaux et soutient un des plus grands nombres d’espèces en voie de disparition et menacées au sein du réseau National Wildlife Refuge.

La promenade Black Point Wildlife Drive est le meilleur endroit pour voir les animaux. Cette route de 11 kilomètres, à sens unique, permet aux visiteurs d’observer des oiseaux, des alligators, des loutres de rivière, entre autres. J’ai aperçu un lynx roux maraudant et une douzaine d’oiseaux de rivage.

Le refuge est bordé par l’aire protégée Canaveral National Seashore, qui offre une belle plage et des possibilités de loisirs comme le camping, le kayak, la pêche et la baignade.

Zoo de Brevard
Melbourne

Pendant que j’étais debout sur une plateforme élevée, je me suis trouvé face à face avec Milenna, une girafe qu’on alimentait en laitue. Attention à sa langue, qui est environ 50 centimètres de long! Si vous préférez une perspective un peu plus éloignée, faites une excursion en kayak autour de l’enceinte des girafes. Cette expérience originale est offerte seulement au zoo de Brevard.

Le zoo a ouvert ses portes en 1994 et abrite désormais plus de 900 animaux représentant 196 espèces. En explorant l’attraction « Lands of Change: Australia and Beyond », j’ai adoré l’exposition de kangourous, où un kangourou rouge sautillait par-ci par-là, transportant un mignon bébé kangourou dans sa poche.
 


PROFITEZ DES BELLES PLAGES


Parc d’État de Sebastian Inlet

Plage de Melbourne

Pour vous amuser au soleil, rendez-vous au parc d’État Sebastian Inlet, qui propose surf, pêche, faune et flore et 5 kilomètres de plages.

Le quai le plus au nord fait un doux virage vers l’Atlantique, offrant une excellente occasion pour pêcher du brochet de mer, du thazard atlantique, du sébaste, et plus encore. Quand il était plus jeune, la légende locale Kelly Slater, qui a remporté un record de 11 championnats du monde de surf, pratiquait le surf près du quai.

Sebastian Inlet relie les eaux déferlantes de l’océan Atlantique aux eaux calmes du lagon Indian River. Le creux de marée calme est un endroit idéal où les enfants peuvent patauger dans l’eau et chercher des coquillages. Le parc compte 190 espèces d’oiseaux, et chaque été, des tortues marines caouannes, vertes et luths parcourent des centaines de kilomètres pour nidifier dans les sables chauds.

Quai de Cocoa Beach
Cocoa Beach

Cocoa Beach évoque des scènes d’une autre époque : des astronautes musclés aux cheveux en brosse étendus dans le sable, cachés derrière leurs verres fumés, dégageant un charme que la plupart d’entre nous ne posséderont jamais. Bien que ces astronautes aient disparu, le quai de 244 mètres offre toujours un excellent point de vue pour voir les fusées filer vers l’espace.

Grâce à ses cinq bars et restaurants, le quai de Cocoa Beach attire des foules enthousiastes qui incluent des touristes, des pêcheurs et des surfeurs. Rendez-vous à la Rikki Tiki Tavern au bout du quai pour prendre une boisson fraîche au coucher du soleil.

Ron Jon Surf Shop
Cocoa Beach

Je me suis toujours demandé ce que faisaient les surfeurs à 3 heures du matin lorsqu’ils avaient besoin de nouveaux shorts de surf. Eh bien, la boutique Ron Jon de Cocoa Beach est ouverte en tout temps pour de telles urgences, ce qui est très pratique. De plus, les clients nocturnes n’auront que l’embarras du choix. Avec sa superficie de 4 831 mètres carrés, c’est le plus grand magasin de surf au monde.

Il est impossible de passer à côté du bâtiment art déco bleu, jaune, orange et turquoise. Une statue de Kelly Slater, le plus grand surfeur de tous les temps, accueille les clients devant la porte.

Connexe

Voir tous les articles

Lisez d’autres histoires sur la Floride.

Start A Reservation

Enjoy fast and easy car rental bookings from Enterprise Rent-A-Car at one of our 7,200 branches in cities, airports and neighborhoods near you.

Reserve Now

Email Offers

Don't miss an excuse to hit the road: our latest offers delivered to your inbox.

Sign Up