This site uses cookies for analytics and interest-based advertising purposes. Read our Cookie Policy or click on AdChoices for more information. Ad Choices

Weekend Getaway to Victoria, Canada

Parliament Buildings in Victoria

Parliament Buildings in Victoria


Above photo: Parliament Buildings in Victoria

Story and photos by Emma Skye

Emma is a freelance photographer specializing in travel, lifestyle and adventure photography.

Food, attractions and friendly community draw visitors to British Columbia’s capital city.

When I moved to Victoria five years ago, I expected it to be just another town. Instead, I found a small city with a big heart. Victoria is warm not only in weather but also in character. Cars stop for jaywalkers—usually—and people who tell you to “Have a good day!” genuinely mean it.

Here are a few places you shouldn’t miss when visiting this friendly place.

Explore the Inner Harbour
Take a tour of the Parliament Buildings, visit the Royal BC Museum, or stop by the iconic Fairmont Empress for tea. In summer months, colourful 3D chalk drawings decorate the streets, and it’s not uncommon to spot a busker dressed as Darth Vader playing the violin at one corner and a bagpiper playing the haunting melody of the “Skye Boat Song” at the next.

Brunch and Beyond
On Sundays, I love eating brunch at Pagliacci’s, better known to locals as “Pag’s.” Memorable artwork decorates the walls, and the staff serves deliciously cheesy Italian food. If you’re looking for a more traditional brunch menu, the Blue Fox Cafe is another favourite that almost always has a line out the door. For dinner, head to Rebar, a colourful restaurant with an imaginative take on healthy food.

Markets
On summer weekends, you can pick up a variety of freshly baked goods and artisan crafts at the Bastion Square Public Market. Alternatively, the Victoria Public Market is open year-round. Be sure to try a croissant from The French Oven Bakery.

Gardens and Parks
Exiled Prince Nicholas Abkhazi and orphaned girl Marjorie (Peggy) Pemberton-Carter first met in the 1920s but were separated by World War II. After reuniting and getting married in 1946, they built Abkhazi Garden as a testament to their love.

The garden, shielded from the outside world by a hornbeam hedge, includes everything from native Garry oaks to 100-year-old rhododendrons that surround the original Abkhazi home. At the Teahouse, enjoy seasonal menus of beautifully presented treats in what was once the Abkhazis’ living room. It’s a perfect stop if you’re short on time and aren’t able to make it to the better-known Butchart Gardens farther north.

Usually overlooked by visitors, Beacon Hill Park is home to a rose garden, a water park and even a petting zoo. Be sure to keep an eye out for the 36-foot sculpture known as the Moss Lady.

Hiking
If you’re searching for adventure, Victoria is home to hundreds of hiking trails. Hike to Jocelyn Hill, in Gowlland Tod Provincial Park, for stunning views of Finlayson Arm fjord. For a shorter hike, head to Goldstream Provincial Park and visit Vancouver Island’s Niagara Falls. While much smaller than their eastern cousin, they are almost as high. Continue up the hill to your right to get to the Niagara Trestle where you’ll be rewarded with views of the surrounding area.

Stroll through the City
Walk through Fan Tan Alley, the narrowest street in the country, where a variety of souvenir shops and restaurants have replaced the opium dens of the early 1900s. If you’re claustrophobic, the lesser-known Dragon Alley offers more room to breathe.

Stroll through downtown to see the purple glass paving bricks. But don’t forget to look up once in a while or you’ll miss the best part of Victoria: the incredible community of friendly locals.

Related

View all articles

Read more stories about Canada.

Start A Reservation

Enjoy fast and easy car rental bookings from Enterprise Rent-A-Car at one of our 7,200 branches in cities, airports and neighborhoods near you.

Reserve Now

Email Offers

Don't miss an excuse to hit the road: our latest offers delivered to your inbox.

Sign Up

Ce site utilise des fichiers témoins aux fins d’analyse et de diffusion de publicités ciblées par centres d’intérêt. Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre politique relative aux fichiers témoins ou cliquez sur AdChoices. Ad Choices

Escapade de fin de semaine à Victoria, au Canada

Édifices du Parlement à Victoria

Édifices du Parlement à Victoria


Photo ci-dessus : Édifices du Parlement à Victoria

Histoire et photos par Emma Skye

Emma est une photographe indépendante spécialisée dans la photographie de voyage, de mode de vie et d’aventure.

La gastronomie, les attractions et la communauté sympathique attirent les visiteurs à la capitale de la Colombie-Britannique.

Lorsque j’ai déménagé à Victoria il y a cinq ans, je m’attendais à ce qu’elle soit une ville comme les autres. Au lieu de cela, j’ai trouvé une petite ville avec un grand cœur. Victoria dégage de la chaleur, autant du côté personnalité que du côté météo. Les voitures s’arrêtent pour les piétons en traversée illégale, habituellement; et les personnes qui vous disent, « Passez une bonne journée! », le souhaitent sincèrement.

Voici quelques endroits à ne pas manquer lors de votre visite dans cet endroit accueillant.

Explorez le port intérieur;
participez à une visite guidée des édifices du Parlement; visitez le Royal BC Museum; ou arrêtez-vous à l’emblématique salon de thé du Fairmont Empress. Pendant les mois d’été, des dessins de craie très colorés décorent les rues, et il n’est pas rare d’apercevoir un amuseur de rue vêtu en Darth Vader jouant du violon sur un coin de rue et un cornemuseur jouant la mélodie envoûtante « The Skye Boat Song » sur un autre coin de rue.

Brunch à faire rêver
Le dimanche, j’adore prendre le brunch au restaurant Pagliacci’s, mieux connu par les habitants sous le nom de « Pag’s ». Des œuvres d’art intéressantes ornent les murs, et le personnel sert une délicieuse cuisine italienne fromagée. Si vous recherchez un menu brunch plus traditionnel, le Blue Fox Cafe est un autre endroit préféré qui a presque toujours une file d’attente. Pour le souper, rendez-vous à Rebar, un restaurant haut en couleur qui propose une cuisine saine et imaginative.

Marchés
Les week-ends d’été, vous pouvez vous procurer une variété de produits de boulangerie fraîchement préparés et des œuvres artisanales au marché de Bastion Square. Par ailleurs, le marché de Victoria est également ouvert toute l’année. N’oubliez pas d’essayer un croissant de la boulangerie The French Oven Bakery.

Les jardins et les parcs
Dans les années 1920, le Prince exilé Nicholas Abkhazi et l’orpheline Marjorie (Peggy) Pemberton-Carter se sont rencontrés pour la première fois, mais ont été séparés par la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Après s’être retrouvés et s’être mariés en 1946, ils ont construit le jardin Abkhazi pour témoigner de leur amour.

Le jardin, protégé du monde extérieur par une haie de charmes taillés, comprend de tout, y compris des chênes de Garry natifs et rhododendrons vieux de 100 ans qui entourent la maison Abkhazi d’origine. Rendez-vous à la maison de thé et profitez des menus saisonniers qui proposent des gâteries joliment présentées dans ce qui était autrefois le salon d’Abkhazi. C’est l’arrêt idéal si vous êtes pressé et ne pouvez pas vous rendre un peu au nord pour voir les jardins Butchart qui sont plus connus.

Souvent négligé par les visiteurs, le parc Beacon Hill abrite une roseraie, un parc aquatique et même un zoo pour enfants. Ne manquez pas la statue de 11 mètres connue sous le nom de « La charmante dame ».

Randonnée
Si l’aventure vous anime, Victoria abrite des centaines de sentiers de randonnée. Partez en randonnée jusqu’à la colline de Jocelyn, dans le parc provincial de Gowlland Tod, pour une vue imprenable sur le fjord Finlayson Arm. Pour une randonnée plus courte, rendez-vous au parc provincial de Goldstream et visitez les chutes du Niagara de l’île de Vancouver. Bien qu’elles soient beaucoup plus petites que leur cousin de l’est, elles sont presque aussi élevées. Continuez à monter la colline sur votre droite pour vous rendre au pont sur chevalets de Niagara où vous serez récompensé par une vue sur la région environnante.

Promenade dans la ville
Baladez-vous dans la ruelle Fan Tan Alley, la rue la plus étroite du pays, où une variété de boutiques de souvenirs et de restaurants ont remplacé les fumeries d’opium du début des années 1900. Si vous êtes claustrophobes, la ruelle Dragon Alley, quoique moins célèbre, offre plus de place pour respirer.

Promenez-vous dans le centre-ville pour voir les briques de pavage en verre violet. Mais n’oubliez pas de lever les yeux de temps en temps pour regarder devant vous. Sinon, vous manquerez la meilleure partie de Victoria : l’incroyable communauté d’habitants accueillants.

Connexe

Voir tous les articles

Lisez d’autres histoires sur le Canada.

Start A Reservation

Enjoy fast and easy car rental bookings from Enterprise Rent-A-Car at one of our 7,200 branches in cities, airports and neighborhoods near you.

Reserve Now

Email Offers

Don't miss an excuse to hit the road: our latest offers delivered to your inbox.

Sign Up