This site uses cookies for analytics and interest-based advertising purposes. Read our Cookie Policy or click on AdChoices for more information. Ad Choices

Cabot Trail Drive is a Quest for the Best

The Cabot Trail in Nova Scotia

The Cabot Trail in Nova Scotia


Above photo: The Cabot Trail stretches 185 miles around Cape Breton National Park in Nova Scotia.

Story and photos by Charles Williams

Charles is the editor for Pursuits with Enterprise. Email the author.

Rich culture, great seafood and lively music distinguish this Nova Scotia journey from all others.

Musicians fiddle with a frenzy on Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia.

That’s not surprising. Hundreds of years of practice have created some of the best players in the world, and some people say the music here might be more Scottish than in the motherland itself.

And like a blessed union, the toe-tapping, shoulder-swaying melodies provide the perfect soundtrack for what’s been called one of the most scenic drives in the world: the Cabot Trail.

Well-known routes such as the Pacific Coast Highway in California, the Overseas Highway in the Florida Keys and Scenic Byway 12 in Utah have earned their street cred. But the Cabot Trail, an isolated drive high in Canada’s northeast countryside, was a mystery — one that piqued my curiosity and tempted my sense of adventure. And as road warriors know, the quest for the most spectacular drive can be just as exhilarating as the drive itself.

The 185-mile Cabot Trail opened in 1932. The circular route cuts through the upper part of Cape Breton Island and is especially dramatic as it skirts Cape Breton Highlands National Park, home to bald eagles, bears and moose.

The Cabot Trail is more than a scenic drive; it’s a cultural odyssey, a journey through towns that represent both Scottish and French traditions. Travellers can approach the loop in many ways and which direction you drive and where you stay is a matter of personal preference — I chose to drive clockwise based on availability of accommodations.

I began my journey in Cheticamp on the western side of the island, where Acadian culture is deeply rooted. The Acadians are descendants of French colonists who settled in northeastern Canada and Maine during the 17th and 18th centuries. The British eventually expelled thousands of them, creating the present-day Cajun population in Louisiana. The Acadian flag is the French tricolour with a golden star, and you’ll see it throughout town.

The Cornerstone Motel in Cheticamp provided friendly, inexpensive accommodations at the entrance to Cape Breton National Park, a perfect location for exploring. After grabbing a sandwich at Aucoin Bakery, which has been serving croissants and baguettes since 1959, it was time to hit the road.

As I entered the park, it was immediately clear why people love the drive. The two-lane road hugs the dramatic Gulf of Saint Lawrence coastline. I drove 13 exhilarating miles, constantly twisting, turning, rising and falling, to my first destination — the Skyline Trail.

The Cabot Trail is a driver’s dream, but the route also features 26 hiking trails. If you only hike one, make it the Skyline Trail. The easy 4-mile loop provides stunning coastal views from atop French Mountain. And just when I thought the day couldn’t get any better, a family of moose crossed my path at sunset. It was magical.

On advice from a local, I settled into the Harbor Restaurant and Bar in Cheticamp for dinner. I considered ordering the Acadian-Style Morue en Cabane (fresh cod slowly cooked with chives and pork scraps) but ordered the recommended Bayside Fettuccine (shrimp, lobster, scallops and vegetables gently sautéed in creamy white seafood sauce topped with fresh parmesan cheese). “Everything is caught in waters off Nova Scotia,” the waitress assured me. I typically don’t order seafood, but it was the best meal of my trip, maybe of the year.

Just down the street at the casual Doryman Pub & Grill, talent night beckoned musicians who fiddled and plucked while patrons square danced. Though Cheticamp was my first stop, the day typified the entire Cabot Trail experience — thrilling drives, beautiful hikes, fascinating wildlife, delicious seafood and great music.

The next day, I weaved my way around the northern end of Cape Breton National Park toward Ingonish. I was in no rush, so I made several stops to break up the journey.

At Pleasant Bay, the Rusty Anchor is a popular family-run restaurant with a great view and a large statue of a fisherman heaving a lobster skyward. Two good hikes are nearby. The MacIntosh Brook Trail was an easy 45-minute round-trip hike to a waterfall, and the Lone Shieling Trail had a replica of a Scottish farmer’s hut set among 350-year-old sugar maple trees.

The Cabot Trail has an optional coastal offshoot as you approach the east coast. If you take it, drop by the Chowder House in Neil’s Harbour for a delicious lobster club sandwich, best enjoyed on a picnic table overlooking the water.

Whereas Cheticamp had an Acadian flair, Ingonish was decidedly Scottish. The Keltic Lodge and Resort in Ingonish Beach opened in 1940, and it offers some of the best amenities along the Cabot Trail. The award-winning Purple Thistle Dining Room and the classic 18-hole Cape Breton Highlands Golf Course draw tourists. The lodge also is a starting point for another great hike, the 2.4-mile Middle Head Trail, which skirts along a peninsula.

Like the rest of Cape Breton Island, music is prevalent on the east coast. During the Celtic Colours music festival, held for nine days each October, some of the best musicians from around the world descend upon the island, just when the leaves are changing colour. The night I visited the Keltic Lodge’s lounge, guitar player Rob MacLean, from Whycocomagh, Nova Scotia, played a mix of Celtic favourites and Gordon Lightfoot songs.

Moving farther south, Baddeck is another convenient stopover showcasing shops, restaurants, a few nearby attractions, and of course, music. While I enjoyed a homemade berry cobbler at the High Wheeler Cafe, a man dressed in full Scottish garb played bagpipes and wandered aimlessly down the road.

Inventor Alexander Graham Bell spent time at his Baddeck estate during his last 40 years of life and a national historic site now highlights his inventions and humanitarian work. Bell’s love of the area is well known. He once said, "I have travelled the globe. I have seen the Canadian and American Rockies, the Andes and the Alps and the highlands of Scotland, but for simple beauty, Cape Breton outrivals them all."

Just north of town, visitors to Uisge Ban Falls Provincial Park can hike 2.4 miles to a 50-foot-high waterfall. And the nearby Gaelic College celebrates the songs, music, dance and storytelling that have always been important parts of Gaelic society. Attend a ceilidh — a social gathering with music — to get a true taste of Cape Breton nightlife.

The road to Margaree Harbour travels through the peaceful Margaree River Valley and then back to Cheticamp, the starting point for my journey.

The Cabot Trail is named for explorer John Cabot, who sailed to North America in 1497. Cabot’s exact landing spot is debatable, but his spirit of discovery lives on in travellers who take the journey along his remote namesake road. They will be rewarded with solitude and scenery that’s unattainable on more popular scenic drives.

Is the Cabot Trail the most scenic drive in the world? Well, that’s for you to decide. But with all that it has to offer, does it really matter?

Related Articles

Start a Reservation

Enjoy fast and easy car rental bookings from Enterprise Rent-A-Car at one of our 7,200 branches in cities, airports and neighbourhoods near you.

Reserve now

Email Offers

Don't miss an excuse to hit the road: our latest offers delivered to your inbox.

Sign Up

Ce site utilise des fichiers témoins aux fins d’analyse et de diffusion de publicités ciblées par centres d’intérêt. Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre politique relative aux fichiers témoins ou cliquez sur AdChoices. Ad Choices

La route panoramique de la Piste de Cabot : en quête de la meilleure randonnée en voiture

La Piste de Cabot en Nouvelle-Écosse

La Piste de Cabot en Nouvelle-Écosse


Photo ci-dessus : la Piste de Cabot s’étend sur 300 kilomètres autour du Parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Article et photos par Charles Williams

Charles est le rédacteur en chef du magazine Pursuits with Enterprise. Envoyez un courriel  à l’auteur.

Une riche culture, d’excellents fruits de mer et une musique entraînante distinguent ce voyage en Nouvelle-Écosse de tous les autres.

Les musiciens jouent du violon avec frénésie sur l’île du Cap-Breton, en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Ce n’est pas surprenant. Des centaines d’années de pratique ont produit certains des meilleurs musiciens au monde, et certains disent que la musique ici pourrait être plus écossaise que celle de la mère patrie elle-même.

Et telle une union bénie, les mélodies qui font taper du pied et danser fournissent la bande sonore idéale pour ce que plusieurs considèrent comme l’une des plus belles routes panoramiques au monde : la Piste de Cabot.

Les routes bien connues comme la Pacific Coast Highway en Californie, l’Overseas Highway dans les Keys de la Floride et la Scenic Byway 12 dans l’état de l’Utah méritent bien leur renom. Mais la Piste de Cabot, une route isolée dans les montagnes dans la campagne du nord-est du Canada, était pour moi un mystère qui a piqué ma curiosité et éveillé mon sens de l’aventure. Et comme les mordus de la route le savent, la quête de la plus spectaculaire randonnée en voiture au monde peut être tout aussi exaltante que la randonnée elle-même.

La Piste de Cabot, route de 300 kilomètres, ouverte en 1932. La route circulaire traverse la partie supérieure de l’île du Cap-Breton et est particulièrement époustouflante lorsqu’elle longe le Parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton, qui abrite des pygargues, des ours et des orignaux.

La Piste de Cabot est plus qu’une route pittoresque; elle est une odyssée culturelle et un voyage à travers des villages qui préservent à la fois les traditions écossaises et françaises. Les voyageurs peuvent accéder à la boucle de différentes façons et la direction dans laquelle ils conduisent et où ils restent est une question de préférence personnelle – j’ai choisi de conduire dans le sens horaire en fonction de la disponibilité de l’hébergement.

J’ai commencé mon voyage à Chéticamp sur la côte ouest de l’île, où la culture acadienne est profondément enracinée. Les Acadiens sont les descendants des colons français qui se sont installés dans le nord-est du Canada et dans le Maine au cours des 17e et 18e siècles. Des milliers de ces colons français ont ensuite été expulsés par les Britanniques, d’où l’origine de l’actuelle population acadienne en Louisiane. Le drapeau acadien aux couleurs de la France est orné d’une étoile dorée, et vous le verrez partout en ville.

Le Cornerstone Motel à Chéticamp offre un hébergement amical et peu coûteux à l’entrée du Parc National des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton, l’endroit idéal pour explorer. Après avoir acheté un sandwich à la Boulangerie Aucoin, qui sert des croissants et des baguettes depuis 1959, il était temps de prendre la route.

Lorsque je suis arrivé au parc, j’ai tout de suite compris pourquoi tant de gens adorent parcourir cette route en voiture. La route à deux voies longe le littoral spectaculaire du golfe du Saint-Laurent. J’ai parcouru 20 kilomètres électrisants sur cette route constamment sinueuse jusqu’à ma première destination – la Skyline Trail.

La Piste de Cabot est le rêve de tout conducteur, mais elle donne également accès à 26 sentiers de randonnée. Si vous n’avez qu’une randonnée à faire, parcourez la Skyline Trail. La boucle de 6 kilomètres de sentier accessible offre des vues sur la mer à couper le souffle du sommet de la French Mountain. Et juste au moment où je pensais que la journée ne pouvait pas aller mieux, une famille d’orignaux a croisé ma route au coucher du soleil. C’était magique.

Sur les conseils d’un habitant de l’endroit, je suis allé au Harbour Restaurant and Bar à Chéticamp pour le repas du soir. J’ai eu le goût de commander la morue en cabane, un plat typiquement acadien composé de morue fraîche cuite lentement avec de la ciboulette et des restes de porc, mais mon choix s’est arrêté sur le fettucine Bayside, un plat de crevettes, de homard, de pétoncles et de légumes sautés doucement dans une sauce crémeuse blanche aux fruits de mer saupoudré de parmesan frais. « Tous nos poissons et nos fruits de mer ont été pêchés au large de la Nouvelle-Écosse », m’a assuré la serveuse. Je n’ai pas l’habitude de commander des fruits de mer, mais ce plat a été le meilleur repas du voyage, peut-être même de l’année.

Non loin de là, l’ambiance conviviale de la soirée amateur du Doryman Pub & Grill avait attiré des violonistes et des guitaristes qui faisaient bouger les clients au rythme de la danse carrée. Bien que Chéticamp a été mon premier arrêt, cette première journée a été très représentative du reste de mon voyage sur la Piste de Cabot – des balades en voiture palpitantes, des randonnées sur des sentiers magnifiques, une faune fascinante, de délicieux fruits de mer et de l’excellente musique.

Le jour suivant, j’ai parcouru le chemin sinueux autour de l’extrémité nord du Parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton, vers Ingonish. Comme je n’étais pas pressé, j’ai fait plusieurs arrêts.

À Pleasant Bay, le Rusty Anchor est un restaurant familial populaire avec une très belle vue et une grande statue d’un pêcheur brandissant un homard vers le ciel. Deux beaux sentiers se trouvent à proximité. La MacIntosh Brook Trail est un sentier accessible de 45 minutes de marche aller-retour qui mène à une chute, et la Lone Shieling Trail donne accès à une réplique d’une maison de fermier écossais située au milieu d’érables de 350 ans.

La Piste de Cabot comprend une route facultative à l’approche de la côte est. Si vous la prenez, arrêtez-vous au Chowder House à Neil’s Harbour pour manger un délicieux club sandwich au homard, encore meilleur sur une table de pique-nique avec vue sur l’eau.

Alors que les traditions acadiennes sont bien présentes à Chéticamp, Ingonish est incontestablement une région écossaise. Le Keltic Lodge and Resort à Ingonish Beach, ouvert en 1940, offre certaines des meilleures commodités le long de la Piste de Cabot. La salle à manger Purple Thistle primée et le terrain de golf Cape Breton Highlands de 18 trous attirent les touristes. Le Keltic Lodge est également le point de départ d’une autre superbe randonnée pédestre, la Middle Head Trail, qui longe une péninsule.

La musique occupe une grande place au Cap-Breton, comme partout sur la côte est. Au cours du festival de musique Celtic Colours, qui a eu lieu pendant 9 jours au mois d’octobre, certains des meilleurs musiciens du monde entier débarquent sur l’île, juste au moment où les feuilles changent de couleur. Le soir où j’ai visité le bar-salon du Keltic Lodge, le guitariste Rob MacLean, de Whycocomagh, en Nouvelle-Écosse, jouait des chansons celtiques classiques et des chansons de Gordon Lightfoot.

Un peu plus au sud, Baddeck est un arrêt idéal offrant des boutiques, des restaurants, quelques attractions à proximité, et bien sûr, de la musique. Pendant que je savourais une croustade maison aux petits fruits au High Wheeler Cafe, un homme habillé en costume écossais jouait de la cornemuse en errant dans la rue.

L’inventeur Alexander Graham Bell a passé beaucoup de temps à sa maison de Baddeck au cours des 40 dernières années de sa vie et un lieu historique national souligne aujourd’hui ses inventions et son travail humanitaire. L’amour de Bell pour la région est bien connu. "J’ai voyagé dans le monde entier. J’ai vu les Rocheuses canadiennes et américaines, les Andes et les Alpes et les montagnes de l’Écosse, mais pour sa simple beauté, le Cap-Breton surpasse tous ces endroits", a-t-il dit.

Au nord de la ville, les visiteurs du parc provincial Uisge Ban Falls peuvent parcourir un sentier de 3,2 kilomètres vers une chute d’eau de 15 mètres. À proximité, le Gaelic College célèbre les chansons, la musique, la danse et les contes qui ont toujours été importants dans la société gaélique. Assister à un ceilidh – un rassemblement social avec de la musique – pour une vraie expérience des soirées typiques du Cap-Breton.

La route vers Margaree Harbour traverse la paisible Margaree River Valley, puis mène à Chéticamp, le point de départ de mon voyage.

La Piste de Cabot porte le nom de l’explorateur John Cabot, arrivé en Amérique du Nord par bateau en 1497. Le point d’arrivée exact de Cabot fait l’objet d’un débat, mais son esprit de découverte anime toujours les voyageurs qui parcourent cette route isolée portant son nom. Ces voyageurs seront récompensés par la solitude et les paysages que les routes panoramiques les plus populaires ne peuvent pas offrir.

La Piste de Cabot est-elle la randonnée en voiture la plus pittoresque au monde? À vous de décider. Mais avec tout ce qu’elle a à offrir, est-ce vraiment important?

Articles connexes

Commencer une réservation

Profitez de réservations de location de véhicules rapides et faciles auprès d’une des 7 200 succursales de location d’autos Enterprise situées dans les villes, les aéroports et les quartiers près de chez vous.

Réserver maintenant

Offres par courriel

Ne manquez pas la chance de prendre la route : nos dernières offres livrées dans votre boîte de réception.

S’abonner