This site uses cookies for analytics and interest-based advertising purposes. Read our Cookie Policy or click on AdChoices for more information. Ad Choices

A Traveller's Tribute to Trees

The Cypress Tree Tunnel at Point Reyes, California, is worth a stop, especially for photographers.

The Cypress Tree Tunnel at Point Reyes, California, is worth a stop, especially for photographers.


Above photo: The Cypress Tree Tunnel at Point Reyes, California, is worth a stop, especially for photographers.

Story and photos by Rebecca Holland

Rebecca is a freelance travel and food writer based in Chicago. You can find her on Instagram.

The drive from Olympic National Park to San Francisco features spectacular views of towering forests.

129 kilometres from Seattle, in the northwest tip of the continental United States, lie nearly 1 million acres of wilderness. Olympic National Park and the surrounding Olympic National Forest are known for their diversity, encompassing glacier-capped mountains, rugged coastline and old-growth temperate rain forests.

Driving along the Pacific Coast of the forest, I saw sea stacks, sandy beaches and islands in the distance. What I found most spectacular, though, were the trees. The conifers in Olympic National Park are more than 20 stories tall. They’re joined by cathedral forests of Douglas firs and Sitka spruce, western red cedar and big-leaf maples. What’s so amazing about these trees is not only their massive size, but the different ways in which the park and forest services protect their diversity.

In the 1860s, there was a battle of sorts between Gifford Pinchot and John Muir about how federal land should be managed. John Muir was for preservation, which is essentially no human intervention, while Pinchot was for conservation, which is protection of land while also using it responsibly. Eventually, with the help of President Theodore Roosevelt, Pinchot’s vision came through in the form of the National Forest Service—which now includes more than 193 million acres of land. Muir’s vision also came to life as the National Park Service, which encompasses more than 100 million acres of land. Because of this arrangement, national parks are surrounded by national forests, and the two are managed differently but work together.

Logging, some mining, and other uses of land for government profit are allowed in national forests but not in national parks, as long as the uses do not negatively impact the ecosystem. In national forests, selective logging and thinning can help areas to have healthier trees, more diversity and less intense fires. Cleaner air, a higher reproductive rate of trees, and habitat creation are all benefits of healthy trees.

Both approaches create stunning beauty that is best viewed firsthand. Several trails allow you to take advantage of the diversity of trees in Olympic National Park. I walked through the Valley of the Giants on the Quinault Rain Forest Nature Loop, a half-mile trail that connects to several longer trails. The Hall of Mosses Trail, a 1.3-kilometre loop, or the 1.9-kilometre Spruce Nature Trail are within the park's Hoh Rain Forest. Both walks are filled with giant, mossy trees that made me feel like I was in another world or on the set of a fantasy movie.

After being humbled by the forest in Washington, I began the drive to Oregon for more astounding views. For a quick route (a little under three hours), take Interstate Highway 5 to the Columbia River Gorge. If you have more time, scenic U.S. Highway 12 (a little under five hours), goes through Gifford Pinchot National Forest, named after the Forest Service’s first chief. The Columbia River Gorge canyon cuts through the Cascade mountains, and the drive provides views of cliffs to the north in Washington, and smaller mountains and waterfalls to the south in Oregon. Along the way, there are numerous wineries you can visit that specialize in grapes such as albarino and zinfandel. You can also buy fruit from the Hood River farmers market and check out the cute local boutiques along the way.

As I continued to drive south through Mount Hood National Forest, I saw Mount Hood in the distance. Like Olympic, this forest is filled with old growth. I moved on, through Willamette National Forest and Deschutes National Forest, where the Forest Service was conducting controlled burns.

I camped in Deschutes National Forest for the night, then drove the 32 kilometres to Bend, Oregon, for a day outside of the trees. Lone Pine Coffee Roasters was the perfect place to refuel. Bend is known as one of the best hiking cities in America, and every customer at Lone Pine was decked out in gear. Some had kayaks and other outdoor equipment strapped to their cars. I was told Rimrock Trail was a nice, short day hike, and I wasn’t led astray. The 1.6-kilometre trail along the Deschutes River was beautiful and not too strenuous.

Afterward, I rewarded myself with hard cider and doughnuts at Avid Cider Company and pizza from Pizza Mondo. Down the street, I learned about Oregon’s famous pinot noir at Naked Winery, which has a great tasting room and selection of local wine. If you’re more of a beer drinker, try Deschutes Brewery or BBC brewery, known for craft beer and a great outdoor patio and grassy area beside the lake. For dinner, try Lebanese cuisine at Joolz, paella at Barrio, award-winning sushi at 5 Fusion & Sushi Bar or American comfort food at Pine Tavern.

On the way out of Bend the next morning, I took the Cascade Lakes Scenic Byway, a 106-kilometre road with viewpoints and outdoor activities along the route. I stopped for the Sparks Lake Hike, a 31-kilometre trail with openings for views of a glistening lake and stratovolcanoes—large, steep-sided, symmetrical cones built of alternating layers of lava and ash.

When my time on the byway ended, I continued south toward Crater Lake National Park. Created by the collapsed Mount Mazama volcano, the lake is 1,949-feet deep, the deepest in the United States. Its depth absorbs the sun’s longer red rays and reflects the shorter blue and violet rays, creating a vibrant colour that is unlike anything I’ve ever seen.

After an hour or so of gazing at the view, I continued south out of Crater Lake National Park, passing mountain hemlock, Jeffrey pines, sugar pines and other trees that survive well in Oregon’s cold winters. From here into northern California, I hit national forest after national forest. I passed through Klamath National Forest and Six Rivers National Forest before stopping for the night in Shasta-Trinity National Forest, the largest national forest in California.

Further to the west, Redwood National and State Parks are home to the largest trees in the world. But if you don’t have time for the westward detour, you can see similar trees at Armstrong Redwoods State Natural Reserve, just south of Mendocino National Forest. In this grove, check out the 310-foot-tall Parson Jones Tree and the 1,400-year-old Colonel Armstrong Tree. I found it humbling to walk along the mossy trail through some of the oldest, tallest trees on the planet.

After hiking among these ancient giants, I went to Healdsburg, where tasting rooms, boutiques, bed-and-breakfast establishments and great restaurants like Chalkboard and Willi’s Seafood & Raw Bar make nice stopping points.

The next morning as I continued toward San Francisco, my final destination, I made my way to Point Reyes National Seashore for a different type of park filled with grasslands, rocky beaches and rugged cliffs. Stop at the Cypress Tree Tunnel, which is an often-photographed road covered by Monterey cypress trees. It’s not on the park map but sits between the lighthouse and the visitor centre.

Continuing south along the seashore, I hit the Golden Gate Recreation Area and the Muir Woods National Monument, a primeval forest with trails through coastal redwoods. By the time I drove across the Golden Gate Bridge into San Francisco, I felt a strong connection to nature. The trees and landscapes were incredible, and made me not only appreciate the beauty of the West Coast, but also the work the U.S. park and forest services are doing to keep these areas intact for many years to come.

Related Stories

View all articles

Ce site utilise des fichiers témoins aux fins d’analyse et de diffusion de publicités ciblées par centres d’intérêt. Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre politique relative aux fichiers témoins ou cliquez sur AdChoices. Ad Choices

Hommage aux arbres

Le Cypress Tree Tunnel à Point Reyes, en Californie, vaut la peine de s’y arrêter, en particulier pour les photographes.

Le Cypress Tree Tunnel à Point Reyes, en Californie, vaut la peine de s’y arrêter, en particulier pour les photographes.


Photo ci-dessus : Le Cypress Tree Tunnel à Point Reyes, en Californie, vaut la peine de s’y arrêter, en particulier pour les photographes.

Histoire et photos de Rebecca Holland

Rebecca est une journaliste indépendante de voyage et d’alimentation basée à Chicago. Vous pouvez la trouver sur Instagram.

Le parcours entre le Olympic National Park et San Francisco offre une vue spectaculaire sur des forêts d’arbres gigantesques.

À 80 mi (129 km) de Seattle, dans la partie nord-ouest de la région continentale des États-Unis, se trouvent près de 1 million d’acres de régions sauvages. Le Olympic National Park et la région avoisinant la Olympic National Forest sont connus pour leur diversité, avec des montagnes enneigées, des côtes accidentées et des forêts pluviales tempérées très anciennes.

En conduisant le long de la côte du Pacifique, j’ai vu des éperons d’érosion, des plages sablonneuses et des îles à distance. Ce que j’ai trouvé le plus spectaculaire, cependant, étaient les arbres. Les conifères du Olympic National Park sont plus hauts qu’un immeuble à 20 étages. Ils côtoient les forêts cathédrales de sapin de Douglas, d’épinette de Sitka et d’érable à grandes feuilles. Ce qui est incroyable au sujet de ces arbres n’est pas seulement leur taille massive, mais également les différents moyens utilisés par les services de parc et forêt pour protéger la diversité.

Dans les années 1860, une querelle opposait Gifford Pinchot et John Muir concernant la façon de gérer les terres fédérales. John Muir était pour la préservation, qui consiste essentiellement à ne faire aucune intervention humaine, tandis que Pinchot était pour la conservation, qui consiste à protéger les terres tout en l’utilisant de façon responsable. Avec l’aide du président Theodore Roosevelt, la vision de Pinchot s’est concrétisée sous la forme du National Forest Service, qui compte désormais plus de 193 millions d’acres de terres. La vision de Muir s’est quant à elle concrétisée sous la forme du National Park Service, avec plus de 100 millions d’acres de terres. En raison de cet arrangement, les parcs nationaux sont entourés de forêts nationales, et les deux sont gérés différemment, mais de manière collaborative.

L’exploitation forestière, certaines mines et d’autres utilisations de terres pour le profit du gouvernement sont autorisées dans les forêts nationales, mais pas dans les parcs nationaux, tant que les utilisations n’ont pas d’impact négatif sur l’écosystème. Dans les forêts nationales, la coupe sélective et l’éclaircissage peuvent aider les zones à avoir des arbres plus sains et plus diversifiés, tout en réduisant les risques d’incendie intense. De l’air moins pollué, un taux de reproduction plus élevé pour les arbres et la création d’habitats sont tous des avantages d’avoir des arbres sains.

Les deux approches créent une beauté remarquable qui vaut la peine d’être vue en personne. Plusieurs sentiers vous permettent de profiter de la diversité des arbres dans le Olympic National Park. J’ai traversé la Valley of the Giants sur la boucle Nature de la Quinault Rain Forest, un sentier de 0,5 mi (0,8 km) reliant plusieurs sentiers d’importance. Le Hall of Mosses Trail, une boucle de 0,8 mi (1,2 km) et le Spruce Nature Trail de 1,2 mi (1,6 km) se trouve dans la Hoh Rain Forest. Les deux promenades sont pleines d’arbres géants et recouverts de mousse. J’avais réellement l’impression d’être dans un monde lointain ou sur le plateau de tournage d’un film fantastique.

Après avoir été émerveillée par la forêt à Washington, j’ai amorcé ma route vers l’Oregon pour des vues encore plus incroyables. Pour un itinéraire rapide (un peu moins de trois heures), prenez l’Interstate Highway 5 vers Columbia River Gorge. Si vous avez plus de temps, profitez de la vue de la U.S. Highway 12 (un peu moins de cinq heures) passant par Gifford Pinchot National Forest, nommée en l’honneur du premier chef du service forestier. Le canyon du Columbia River Gorge traverse les montagnes Cascade, et la route offre une vue sur les falaises au nord de Washington et les petites montagnes et cascades au sud de l’Oregon. Le long du parcours, il y a de nombreux vignobles que vous pouvez visiter. Ceux-ci sont spécialisés dans les cépages tels le Albarino et le Zinfandel. Vous pouvez également acheter des fruits du marché Hood River et parcourir les jolies boutiques locales en cours de route.

Alors que je me dirigeais vers le sud dans la Mount Hood National Forest, j’ai aperçu le mont Hood à la distance. Tout comme le Olympic National Park, cette forêt est remplie de vieux végétaux. J’ai ensuite bifurqué vers la Willamette National Forest et la Deschutes National Forest, où le service forestier effectuait du brûlage dirigé.

J’ai campé dans la Deschutes National Forest pour la nuit, puis j’ai parcouru les 20 mi (32 km) restants afin de me rendre à Bend en Oregon et passer une journée hors de la forêt. Lone Pine Coffee Roasters était l’endroit parfait pour un réapprovisionnement. Bend est connue comme étant une des meilleures villes de randonnée en Amérique, et tous les clients à Lone Pine portaient des vêtements techniques. Certains avaient des kayaks et d’autres de l’équipement de plein attaché à leur voiture. On m’avait dit que Rimrock Trail était une belle randonnée d’une journée à proximité. La piste de 1 mi (1,6 km) le long de la Deschutes River était belle, sans être trop difficile.

Par la suite, je me suis récompensée avec du cidre et des beignes du Avid Cider Company et de la pizza de Pizza Mondo. En parcourant les rues, j’en ai appris davantage sur le célèbre pinot noir de l’Oregon au Naked Winery, qui possède une grande salle de dégustation et une sélection de vin local. Si vous préférez la bière, essayez les produits du Deschutes Brewery ou du BBC brewery reconnus pour leurs bières artisanales, leur grande terrasse extérieure et la zone herbeuse à proximité du lac. Pour le dîner, essayez la cuisine libanaise au Joolz, une paella au Barrio, le sushi primé du 5 Fusion& Sushi Bar ou la nourriture réconfortante américaine du Pine Tavern.

À la sortie de Bend le lendemain matin, j’ai sillonné la Cascade Lakes Scenic Byway, une route de 66 milles (106 km) remplie de panoramas et d’activités de plein air. J’ai fait un arrêt au Sparks Lake Hike, un sentier de 19,5 milles (30,6 km) parsemé de vues sur un lac éclatant et des stratovolcans, qui sont de larges cônes symétriques construits de couches de lave et de cendres en alternance.

Après ma petite escapade, j’ai continué vers le Sud en direction du Crater Lake National Park. Créé par le volcan du Mazama, le lac de 1 914 pi (594 m) est le plus profond des États-Unis. Sa grande profondeur permet d’absorber les longs rayons rouges du soleil et de refléter les rayons courts bleu et violet, créant une couleur vibrante unique.

Après environ une heure à contempler la vue, j’ai continué au sud Crater Lake National Park, j’ai parcouru des forêts de pruche subalpine, de pin de Jeffrey, de pin à sucre et d’autres arbres qui peuvent survivre aux hivers froids de l’Oregon. De là, au nord de la Californie, j’ai traversé une succession de forêts nationales. J’ai traversé la Klamath National Forest et la Six Rivers National Forest avant de m’arrêter pour la nuit dans la Shasta-Trinity National Forest, la plus grande forêt nationale de la Californie.

Plus loin à l’ouest, le parc de Redwood est celui qui accueille les plus gros arbres au monde. Mais si vous n’avez pas le temps de faire un détour vers l’ouest, vous pouvez voir des arbres similaires à la Armstrong Redwoods State Natural Reserve, juste au sud de la Mendocino National Forest. Dans ce boisé, visitez les arbres Parson Jones de 310 pi (94 m) et Colonel Armstrong de 1 400 ans. J’ai été très impressionnée par la marche le long du sentier mousseux parcourant certains des plus vieux et plus grands arbres de la planète.

Après la randonnée parmi ces anciens géants, je suis allé à Healdsburg, où des salles de dégustation, des boutiques, des gîtes touristiques et de grands restaurants comme le Chalkboard et le Willi’s Seafood & Raw Bar constituaient de beaux points d’arrêt.

Le lendemain matin, alors que je poursuivais ma route vers San Francisco, ma destination finale, j’ai fait escale à Point Reyes National Seashore pour un autre type de parc. Celui-ci est rempli de prairies, de plages rocheuses et de falaises abruptes. J’ai aussi fait un arrêt au Cypress Tree Tunnel, qui est une route très photographiée couverte de cyprès de Monterey. Le tunnel n’est pas sur la carte du parc, mais il se trouve entre le phare et le centre d’accueil.

En poursuivant vers le Sud, le long du rivage, j’ai traversé la Golden Gate Recreation Area et le Muir Woods National Monument, une forêt vierge avec des sentiers à travers la forêt côtière. Alors que je me dirigeais vers le Golden Gate Bridge de San Francisco, j’ai senti un rapprochement étroit avec la nature. Les arbres et les paysages étaient incroyables et m’ont fait non seulement apprécier la beauté de la côte ouest, mais aussi le travail impressionnant des services américains de parc et forêt pour avoir protégé ces zones pour de nombreuses années à venir.

Articles connexes

Voir tous les articles